Not in the mood for brownies…

…so I baked some blueberry cream bites. Yea, I know right ‘not in the mood’ is unheard of…

But, I was anxious to try out an individual mini brownie silicon mold that was given to me for the holidays.

So, instead of using the mold for its intended purpose, I chose to bake something lighter.The recipe actually makes 12 regular sized muffins, but I diverted from this plan and made 24 mini bites and poured the remaining batter into a 9-inch round pan.  Does miniaturizing something automatically increase its likeability factor? I pose this question because the mini bite-sized muffins came out really cute. I also found them more enjoyable and easier to eat than a regular sized muffin.

I like my muffins to have a little more of a light golden complexion–I should’ve left the muffins to bake a little longer, but I was afraid of burning them. Also, these muffins aren’t overly sweet. For a sweeter muffin, you can add 1/4 or 1/3 cup more sugar OR sprinkle sugar on top of the batter before baking.

Enough jabber. Recipe now—

2 cups of flour

1 cup of sour cream

1 stick of unsalted butter, softened

1 cup of sugar

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup of frozen blueberries

zest of 1 lemon

makes 12 regular sized muffins

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin pan.

2. Cream together sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs, vanilla, sour cream and lemon zest.

3. Sift flour, salt and baking soda into the liquid mixture. Mix together. the batter will be thick.  Finally, fold in the blueberries by hand.

4. Scoop mixture into the prepared muffin pan.  Bake for about 18-20 minutes until lightly golden.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

