Lemon and Potatoes

Over the weekend, I had dinner with a girlfriend at a Lebanese restaurant.  We shared a good sized order of their popular fried potatoes. They were seasoned with cilantro and lemon juice and tasted PRIMO! I never imagined lemon to go well with potatoes, but HEY–that is why I’m learning how to cook!

So, I’m at home trying to recreate the flavors that happily danced on my tongue. And, once again this recipe requires only a few ingredients—

potatoes, cilantro, garlic and lemon

1.  Chop up the cilantro and mince garlic.

2.Wash, peel and cube up the potatoes. I used 2 small-medium sized potatoes. This should serve 2-3 as a small side/appetizer dish.

3.  Heat up olive oil in a skillet. I threw garlic in the oil at the beginning of cooking, but I think next time, I will add the garlic once the potatoes are nearly done.

4. Brown the sides of the potatoes and cook until tender. Salt and pepper the potatoes. Also, sprinkle a little cayenne pepper. Cook time should be about 10-12 minutes. Add the minced garlic when the potatoes are nearly cooked.

5. Turn off heat. Throw in the chopped cilantro and squeeze lemon juice on to the cooked potatoes. I used the juice of half a lemon, but I think I will use a little more next time. I will also add more cilantro.  Toss and coat the potatoes. Serve hot.

easy and delicious

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lemon and Potatoes

  1. Jen G says:

    Best potato ever recipe ever. I normally do not like eating potato. Made it a few times already. Today was the best.

Leave a Reply

