Mt. Mega Loaf

My friend said it resembled half dome. Another called it a monster!

Let me start by telling you a story of sacrifice, sabotage and redemption.

Three years ago, I made meatloaf for my friends–all of whom are the manliest of men (unreliable source, highly disputed).  The day of,  I shopped for ingredients and since I was cooking at a friend’s house, I asked if they had Worcestershire sauce at their place. My friend, let’s call him ‘Paule’ was sure they had a bottle at the house and so I didn’t purchase any.

I got to their place and started to prep. I searched for the Worcestershire sauce high and low. No where to be found.  So, I asked ‘Paule’ and he said, I doubt anyone will notice if you leave out the Worcestershire sauce–eighty-six the ingredient.  ‘Are you sure?’ I asked.  ‘Yea, it’s just a couple of splashes.’ Unwillingly, I agreed.

An hour or so later, the meatloaf was done. It looked like meatloaf. It smelled tasty. Nice and meaty. Moist. I was 95% confident with what I had produced. So,  I sliced up the meatloaf and served it to my friends.  As they ate, I watched their facial expressions. Nothing. I waited for their reaction and finally asked “Well, what do you think? Any suggestions for improvement?”  My other friend, let’s call him ‘Hope’ said, “its missing something…Worcestershire sauce….yea, that’s it.”

After his comment, all I saw was RED. I can’t remember anything else.

Fast forward to December 2011–that’s how I came to create the monster of all meatloaves–a 5-lb turkey loaf that will certainly impress! Try out this recipe and conquer dinner tonight. Great for leftovers!

5 lbs of ground turkey

4 teaspoons of tomato paste

2 teaspoons of paprika

3/4 cup of chicken broth

1/3 cup of Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup fresh thyme

1/2 cup of fresh parsley, chopped

2 large yellow onions, diced

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 1/2 cups of seasoned bread crumbs

3 large eggs, beaten

S&P

Olive oil

ketchup

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a medium sized pot, cook down the onions with S&P, olive oil, thyme, parsley, paprika and garlic. Add the tomato paste, chicken broth and Worcestershire sauce. Cook the mixture until the onions are translucent and the liquid has thickened. Allow the fragrance of the onion mixture to permeate your nostrils. It smells wonderful.

3.  Allow the onion mixture to cool. Then, in a large bowl, combine the ground turkey, bread crumbs, eggs and onion mixture and add some more S&P.

4.  On a baking sheet, hand shape the combined ingredients into a rectangular shape. Once this is done, spread a thin, even layer of ketchup over the top of the uncooked loaf.

5.  Put in the oven and cook for 1 hour and 45 minutes. Insert a meat thermometer into the center of the loaf. When the internal temperature reaches 16o degrees, the turkey loaf is ready.

This recipe was adapted from a turkey meatloaf recipe by Ina Garten of Food Network. Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

