Leftovers Pt. 2

I’m making a traditional Chinese hot dessert with the leftover yams I have from Thanksgiving. YES! I have YAMS still. I’m trying to practice what I preach and am trying to reduce food waste. My little contribution to this world. Let’s get on with it, shall we…

I love ginger. What’s not to like, its spicy, yet comforting.  Its funny looking and oddly shaped. Fresh ginger is fragrant and full of flavor and best of all, its good for your tummy.

This Yam and Ginger Soup dessert is super easy to make. It only requires 3 ingredients.

Ingredients and Recipe

1/3 cup Fresh ginger root*

2/3 cup Raw brown sugar**

2-3 yams

3.5-4 cups of water

*I added more than a 1/3 cup of ginger because I really like ginger. Add to taste.

**I used the raw brown sugar bars that are found in asian supermarkets. You can substitute turbinado sugar and amount depending on taste in sugar intake.

  1. Bring water to boil.  Meanwhile, wash the ginger root and thinly slice. When water boils, toss in the sliced ginger and let the flavor of the ginger permeate the liquid.
  2. After about 5-8 minutes, add the sugar to the ginger water and let dissolve.
  3. Wash, peel and cut up the yams in similar sized chunks to ensure even cooking. Put the yams in the sweet ginger soup and let cook for about 15-20 minutes. The yams should be tender.

Only 3 ingredients

This is the sugar upclose. I buy it in a brick form.

What shape does this resemble?

NO! Its not carrot soup! Its a zesty, warm yam and ginger soup.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Leftovers Pt. 2

  1. julie says:

    mm. i must try this. makes me want ginger silken tofu. can we go out to eat when i get to LA. no CPK this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

